‘Mother Knows Best’

Cloonacool Players

Cloonacool Players are staging the hilarious comedy ‘Mother Knows Best’ by playwright Jimmy Keary over three nights in Cloonacool Community Centre, Cloonacool, Co Sligo on Friday 24 February, Saturday 25 February, and Sunday night 26 February at 8pm nightly.

This comedy sees the return to stage, in various side splitting roles, well-known actors as Peadar Conway, John McIntyre, Geraldine Lundy, Martin McIntyre, Margaret McIntyre, Brid Calvey, Mary Keane, and Mary Kathleen Johnston.  We welcome new members Lisa Maloney and Liam Kavanagh who add their acting skills and fun to the show. Under the direction of Sean Walsh and assistant director Maria Casey this is a show that will brighten your day and send you home laughing.

With an excellent crew keeping stage and background dramatic works operating smoothly including Sean Calvey, Maurice Conboy, Benny Henry, Sean Johnston, Eoghan Ross, Fergal Conway, Adrian McIntyre, Agnes Durkin, Karen McKim, Eileen Kirrane, Sinead Davitt, Anne Marie Hegarty, Evelyn Towey, and Philomena Marren with others coming on board as we near out performance dates.

Mark the dates in your Diary.  One not to be missed!

Professor Tim Image by Mairead Conway

Cloonacool Players present Professor Tim by George Shiels in Cloonacool Community Centre on this Friday 27 February at 8pm, Saturday 28 February at 8.30pm, and Sunday 1 March 2015 at 8pm.  This revival of a classic ‘kitchen comedy’ by the Cloonacool Players has all the ingredients to entertain an audience.  Don’t miss it !!

Presentation of Mirror to the Cloonacool Players in the Memory of the late Joe Burke

 DSC_0761 Photos:  The Burke Family Present the Mirror in Memory of the late Joe Burke to Tom Towey President of the Cloonacool Players 

DSC_0765

A Sincere word of Thanks to the Burke Family Mullaun, Cloonacool who presented a beautiful mirror to the Cloonacool Players drama group in memory of the late Joe Burke.  We wish to thank the late Joe’s wife Breege, his sons Noel, Brendan, Dennis, and his daughters Eileen, Brid, and Attracta for this very generous gift in memory of their beloved father. 

 Joe Burke was a founding member and life member of the Cloonacool Players Drama group.  He participated in every performance down the years whether backstage, onstage, or front of house.  In the later years he travelled throughout Ireland with the group on the Amateur Drama Circuit of Ireland.  His shared his knowledge and expertise of drama with members young and old.  This in return was greatly received in awe mostly at the amount of information he had stored over his years.      

 The mirror in memory of Joe is now taking pride of place in the drama dressing room of our newly refurbished Community Centre in Cloonacool.  Each time we see the mirror we remember Joe for his knowledge, wit, and quiet ways in which he carried out his never-ending work in Cloonacool.  May he Rest in Peace

Many Young Men of Twenty – Performance Dates

DSC_0037

Photo courtesy of Pat McCarrick

Sat 1-Feb-14 Cloonacool Community Centre
Sun 2-Feb-14 Cloonacool Community Centre
Fri 7-Feb-14 St Brigid’s Hall, Tubbercurry
Sat 8-Feb-14 St Brigid’s Hall, Tubbercurry
Sun 9-Feb-14 St Brigid’s Hall, Tubbercurry
Wed 26-Feb-14 Glens Centre in Manorhamilton
Sat 1-Mar-14 Kiltyclogher Drama Festival
Fri 7-Mar-14 City of Derry Drama Festival
Sun 9-Mar-14 West Clare Doonbeg Festival
Tues 11-Mar-14 Western Drama Festival
Mon 24-Mar-14 Cavan Drama Festival
Thurs 27-Mar-14 Glenamaddy Drama Festival
Tues 1-Apr-14 Hawks Well Theatre, Sligo

Monday 7 April 2014 – All Ireland Confined Finals in Claremorris !!